Project history

Retrieving previously saved versions of a project

38d87d9852a66eea29da00ae16511664

Updated at October 30th, 2019

Keeping track of your changes

As you work, Protobi keeps track of all your changes. Each time the project is saved, that version is stored in history on the server with a timestamp. Even before saves, each time a change is made, that version is saved in the local history of your browser. And even if the browser is closed without saving, when you re-open, you can restore your most recent unsaved changes.

Once you open a project, you can literally unplug the wifi and work from an airplane or ferry until you can sync your changes when back online.

You could even choose not to sync your changes at all, letting you and your clients make local changes each your own browsers without needing to change the master view that everyone can see.

Local history

Select "Local history" from the context menu in the toolbar, or press Shift+Z to bring up a history dialog which will restore your project as it existed at any moment during the session:

Press any time stamp to revert to the project as it existed then.

If somehow you closed your browser or navigated away, no worries, your most recent state can be recovered. 

Server history

If you've already saved changes, prior versions can be recovered from "History" on the project settings page.  Prior saves are listed with time stamps.

  • View — Open a read only version
  • Delta — Open JSON editor with detailed list of changes from its prior saves
  • Restore — Save a new copy of the selected save version

Was this article helpful?